top of page

Sutra 12 - July, 18th (75km) PORT-D'ATELIER - RIGNY : Let's do this! (video) , Hey hun don&#

-

LET'S DO THIS!



Haha ... finally after getting some sleep the night before, and looking wrecked at the ''day after'' video ... The worst was behind me! I had pulled through a rough night and another little adventure. I was empowered by eating some breakfast and on my way to Gray!


Cycling through a beautiful sunny weather, hell yeah, I wanted to cover some distance! Now Conflandey and Port-sur-Saone felt sooooo close, In Port-sur-Saone I got a map and helpful information from the tourist's office, Super ... I had just to follow my river-friend Saone and I couldn't ask for anything better! I had been tracking down this river's twist's and turns for days now, leading me only South and closer to finally leave France behind ...

From Saint-Albin and Scey-sur-Saone, where I enjoyed being in the shade for a while enjoying a cup of coffee, and refilling my precious water-bag, I continued to find the Canal - Tunnel of Saint Albin that would connect me with the rest of the route down the river.




Hmmm that D8 road ... soon after this video was made, and before Rupt-sur-Saone made me sweat hard! Thinking that this must be the reason they have this cafe in the corner of the canal and it was full of cyclists getting some rest! :-) After this point I was just sailing ... through a smooth ride, nice vides ... till something got me a bit worried once more!




HEY HUN! ... DON'T WAIT UP! ... I'M GOING ...

STORM-HUNTING!


“It’s not a bad lesson to learn in the bleaker months: how you view a storm is a question of perspective; provided you find the right rock to watch it from, it could be the most incredible thing you’ll ever witness.”

― Dan Stevens




THE FORTUNE - TELLER!


Losing a bit my way towards Rigny ... cycling to the wrong side of the river, and ending up on a water dead-end, going back and eventually found the bridge to cross ... I stumbled upon this French hippie - gyspy figure that was really willing to help me out with directions ... and not only!


He put all this French gypsy charm and flirting skills to keep me occupied, started rushing in and out of his ''magic van'' bringing food and wine to offer me a ''royal gyspy'' dinner, and insisting reading my future on his ''fortune-telling'' tarot cards!!! When I refused politely he still kept on going telling me how he also admires Greece and it's, mythology showing me his collection when he found out I am Greek ...


I was really trying to start cycling and make my way ... but it was not that easy as his 6 dogs (!) would not stop barking at me, coming around me and kinda holding me back! His van and him looked like they have time-travelled straight out of a 70's gypsy movie! Sureal ...


Our conversation ended about 10 minutes later when I was slowly starting pedaling, kindly telling him that I really had to move on to reach my destination before the sun goes down. I left him behind waving, and sending me kisses shouting ''bisous!!! bisous!!! Bon voyage, deesse grecque!'' ... :-D What I a guy!


Well ... I guess... I will never find out what my future holds ... !



QUEEN OF THIS FOREST ... QUEEN OF THIS PLACE!

Cycled .... cycled ... and I would have reached Gray's camping for sure but right outside Rigny ...






Featured posts
bottom of page