top of page

Sutra 11 - July, 17 (31KM) FONTENOY-LE-CHATEAU - PORT D'ATELIER : After 18:00, HBO presents: &#3

AFTER 18:00

Although I woke up kinda early, I didn't want to go out of my tent ... cause I heard some raindrops. I said ''fuck it'' I am not going to try and pack under the rain and not start cycling either. I would better get some sleep and stay there, see how it goes the rest of the day and start cycling later on ...

After the rain was over and my tent dry, I packed everything and headed down to the cafe, taking the opportunity to do some updates, although the wi-fi was being a bitch to me :-p and took me such a looooooong loooooong time :-p.


Around 18:00 I felt I was kinda stuck sitting to my chair-spot, a little bit longer and I would have spiders putting their webs around me ... so I had to decide to either stay one more night at the camping (didn't really want to do that since I had already packed everything, and I also wanted to cover some distance at least) or get going maybe reaching Port-sur-Saone that evening.


So I took a ''leap of faith'' for an ''after 18:00'' ride, kindly thanked my hostess, filled up my water and took the 2km downhill road this time towards the town. I had time and if I ''stepped on it'' I would definitely be at the next camping before 22:00.


I was actually feeling great cycling that evening. So carefree, it was a really ''meditative'' ride, feeling the flow of my breath, no sun burning me, could cover quite some distance smoothly, just enjoying the fields and the evening colours. Really easy roads cycling through Chazel, Senoncourt, reaching Amance, still having time ahead of me thinking I would make it to Port-sur-Saone soon for sure.


And then my breath's flow stopped for a few seconds ...


Right ahead of me, just a few kilometres away from Port-D'atelier, a huge thunderstorm's cloud was forming ahead of me. I could clearly see lightnings as the cloud was only becoming darker and bigger, gaining height above.f I tried to concentrate and count the seconds between the ''thunder-sounds'' to see how much time i got... not much!


I really had to speed up and find ANYTHING, ANYWHERE POSSIBLE, to set my tent and get ready for what was coming right towards me. Started cycling like crazy to get out of the forest and reach the first houses of Port-D'Atelier so I would be kinda close to town.


As I was approaching, on my right, I could see a gate and a sign indicating that this road was leading to an old industrial area of the town. I saw some train tracks passing through and a ''forest area'' right next to it. ''That is good enough'' I said, getting off Jack and started walking fast. No time to waste, behind the trees I saw building which after a quick inspection I saw it was completely abandoned ... kinda wrecked too but I couldn't get in unfortunately. Behind it though, I could get a nice cover and surrounded by trees I could stay out of sight also. Tent out, storm catching up with me, feeling the first rain drops coming as the last rays of the sun where completely gone and the wind was getting stronger, I set everything and I was waiting for it ...


HBO PRESENTS: ''THE CYCLING DEAD'' SEASON 1 - EPISODE 1 (VIDEO)




THE ''DAY AFTER'' (VIDEO) ...




Featured posts
bottom of page