top of page

Sutra 3 - July, 4 Tienen - Namur - Wepion : 80 km of ups and more ups, ice - tea, escaping the Nazgu



After I left Stille Kempen behind and found my way back to the high way I had a choice to make ... I would either choose to cycle the path LF35 going from Halen, taking a nicer scerery cycling path that meets the green cycling path RAVeL- 2 later on heading to Tienen through a longer distance. OR I could cycle along N29 the highway leadind directy to Tienen that is also suitable for bicycles too. I thought the second option would save me time and would be the best one till Tienen and take the green isolated from cars path after Tienen. THAT WAS A BIG MISTAKE!


UPS AND ... UPS!!!!


The highway was actually full of very steep uphills, that I had to struggle cycling up under the burning sun. Moreover there were hardly trees or a bit of shade to get some releaf so I just kept on stopping to devour water that never seemed enought to quench my thirst thinking : what the fuck?

The path’s neglected maintenance made it extra hard and a bit dangerous too. So I don’t really recommend N29 as a safe route for cyclists especially when carrying a lot of weight during high summer temperatures. In the end I had put more effort and lost more time.


When I arrived in Tienen (I was kinda wrecked) I had to take a small detour to reach the city centre cause of the intense work constructions on the road .Therefore I also took some rest and cooked my lunch. The city centre also looked like it had been bombed… signs and fences and constructions everywhere. But apart from that I noticed that they have been doing a great job arranging the future cycling roads and in general the place is quite cute.

Church in Tienen's centre


The sun was melting everything and most of all … me! So I quickly found a café that I could plug in for some power

and wi-fi to enjoy a huge glass of ice tea replacing all the sugar lost! Very enthusiastic young people running this place ... asking me about my trip and offering me my second drink for free!

check the place out if you are ever around Tienen : 't Loft

I was still half way to Namur so I had to get going once more. Exhausted by the heat though I thought to start cycling around 18:00 to cool off and this time I would take Ravel 2, cycling safely away from cars through nature. And that was a wise choice.


Following path 15 takes you out of Tienen and straight to RAVeL-2 and then you just simply follow the signs up to Namur ... through beautiful green fields, farms and forest areas, passing by picturesque villages.

On my way to Namur through RAVeL-2 route

The path is gradually ascending making it really easy to have a nice relaxing bike ride… so I could relax while putting on my music letting my mind go for a while just enjoy this peaceful moments… that didn’t last too long ...


ESCAPING THE NAZGUL CHASE ...

Right after I came out of a tree-covered dark area and just a few kilometres before reaching Namur … I felt something weird on my back … Taking my earphones out and looking around and behind me I realised that after I had exited the forest a furious bee-gang (about 10-15 of them) had been chasing me… not willing to give up on me no matter how fast I was trying to cycle... the first thought that came to my head was: HOLY SHIT! The faster I was trying to cycle the faster they were flying around me ... Now remember the ''Arwen being chased by the Nazgul'' from the Lord of the Rings scene? Take Arwen's confidence out, (not the choir music background though cause it makes the chase epic!) put lot's of sweat and ''bad hair day'' and me riding Jack in agony chased by furious bees, and there you have my version ... less graceful but it tells the story!

I was about to give up cycling to ''whatever end'' when I saw two cyclists coming towards me and after noticing what's going on they told me to stop take my scarf off my head and cover my back and shoulders also quickly. Soon the bees were gone. They told me that apparently my sweat and wet clothes have attracted them and I should cycle more covered during these areas ... I just felt stupid but lucky that I had escaped the chase with two stings on my back only!

After this incident I decided to put my best effort arriving to Namur and find an organised camping to get some proper rest ... the last 10 kilometers where only downhill and absolutely rewarding for this hard day! The sunset found me in beautiful Namur!


THUNDERSTORM AND THE PICNIC TABLE


Namur is absolutely breathtaking with it's beautiful imposing citadel that overlooks down the Meus river running alonside the city, combining so many beautiful elements together.

The night was falling and I couldn't find any camping close by to rest so I decided to continue cycling down RAVeL-2 for 5,6km more towards Wepion ... it was already 23;00 and I was so exhausted. I had found no place that I could put up my tent and it was already very dark... I stepped down from Jack. Sat down by the river and looked at this beautiful scenery to rest my mind for a while. It was a beautiful night although I could sense that it could be rainny in a few hours.

Right next to me was a big tree, and a picnic table underneath it. There was my answer. No tent needed I would lay my matress and sleeping bag there and get some rest. I had already food, I made a nice cup of ginger tea and I could enjoy this beautiful night view of Meus river. I had everything I needed ... So I fell asleep. Around 02:00 am sound of thunders and rain woke me up ... I started rushing around to put all my stuff protected under the table and stayed awake to see if the storm would break out or not so I would protect myself under the table too. But the tree leaves were creating such a thick layer above me that the rain couldn't find it's way down to me. It rainned for a couple of hours and the storm moved on... once more! I just closed my eyes, being so thankful to the universe and before falling asleep a feeling of trust to the course of things overwhelmed me. That special moment I was at the right place the right time.

My place for the night


Next morning I woke up from people running and cycling early in the morning on the same path. Did my medition and practice prepared breakfast and enjoyed a cup of coffee before making my way towards Dinant.

my meditation spot :-)







Oh! I also made some new friends! ...

Featured posts
bottom of page